Security Now (Audio) podcast artwork

A podcast from TWiT

Security Now (Audio)

twit.tv/shows/security-now

10 Episodes • Released Weekly

10 Episodes • Released Weekly

A podcast from TWiT

Security Now (Audio)

Security Now (Audio) podcast artwork npr.org/programs/invisibilia

10 Episodes • Released Weekly

Listen to this with Pocket Casts, the free podcast app

Elevate your podcast experience

Find Out More

Description

Steve Gibson, the man who coined the term spyware and created the first anti-spyware program, creator of Spinrite and ShieldsUP, discusses the hot topics in security today with Leo Laporte. Records live every Tuesday at 4:30pm Eastern / 1:30pm Pacific / 20:30 UTC.

Latest Episode

26 Aug 2020 • 2 hours 3 mins

SpiKey - Ransomware Hits Jack Daniel's, Iranian Script-Kiddies, How Ransomware Happens

Ransomware hits Jack Daniel's, Iranian Script-Kiddies, how ransomware happens.SpiKey: using the sound of a key to determine its shapeWhat do The University of Utah, Jack Daniel's Whiskey, and Carnival Cruise Lines all have in common? RansomwareA Remote Code Execution in Chrome's WebGLHow ransomware happens: email phishing, remote desktop protocol compromise, and software vulnerabilityEmergency Windows update!Iranian script-kiddies using RDP to deploy Dharma ransomwareThe Zero-Day Initiative turns 15We invite you to read our show notes at https://www.grc.com/sn/SN-781-Notes.pdf Hosts: Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte Download or subscribe to this show at https://twit.tv/shows/security-now. You can submit a question to Security Now! at the GRC Feedback Page. For 16kbps versions, transcripts, and notes (including fixes), visit Steve's site: grc.com, also the home of the best disk maintenance and recovery utility ever written Spinrite 6. Sponsors:Wasabi.com offer code SECURITYNOWsecurityscorecard.com/twitextrahop.com/SECURITYNOW